Have you ever accidentally closed your Word document without saving it? It’s happened to me before — multiple times — and it’s very frustrating! With previous versions of Word, you can recover unsaved changes when Word crashes. However, you can’t recover unsaved changes when you accidentally close the document without saving it.
Fortunately, this has changed in Word 2010 (and other Office 2010 applications)! If you accidentally close a document, spreadsheet or presentation without saving, you can now recover the content.
To recover a file that you closed without saving:
- Relaunch Microsoft Word.
- Click Info.
- Click the Manage Versions button.
- Word displays a list of unsaved version of the current document. You can recover and save any available versions of the document.
There are a few things to keep in mind when using this feature. You can access up to 5 versions. Once you save and close your document, all autosave versions are deleted. Finally, unsaved files are kept for four days then automatically deleted.