If you do not regularly clean out your Deleted Items folder in Outlook, it can quickly get out of control in size. When you delete a message from your Inbox, Sent Items or other folder within Outlook, the message is moved to the Deleted Items folder. This is where messages stay until you clean out the folder.
As an alternative, you can configure Outlook to automatically empty the Deleted Items folder when you close the application. You can accomplish this using the steps described below.
- Within Outlook, click Options from the Tools menu.
- Click the tab labeled “Other.”
- Check the Empty the Deleted Items folder upon exiting option.
- If you do not want a warning to appear each time the Deleted Items folder is emptied, click Advanced Options and clear the War before permanently deleting items option.
[tags]outlook, outlook 2007, email[/tags]