Prevent NT 4.0 From Remembering Dial-up Networking Password

Windows NT 4.0 will remember the last dial-up networking username and password. Some people may find this convenient. However, if you share a computer, you may not want the next person who uses it to see your dial-up networking username and password. By making a small change to the registry, you can prevent Windows NT from remembering the username and password.

Before you begin, you should perform a backup of your registry. Open the Windows registry by clicking Start and selecting Run. Type regedit32 and Click OK. Navigate to the following registry key: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE \ System \ CurrentControlSet \ Services \ RasMan \ Parameters (before you begin, you should perform a backup of your registry). Create a new DWORD value. Type in DisableSavePassword for the Value Name. Open the new DWORD value and change the Value Data to 1. You will have to restart your workstation for the changes to take effect.

[tags]diana huggins,network password,nt 4.0,rasman,dword,regedit32,disablesavepassword[/tags]

Article Written by