Evil New PayPal Phish!
- 2
- Add a Comment
There is a particularly nasty new phishing effort in the name of PayPal that just started going around this week.
Rather than the typical “update your account” request, which fewer and fewer people are falling for, this one says “New e-mail address added to your PayPal account!” and tells you that you, or someone, has successfully updated your PayPal account by adding an additional e-mail address.
This one takes full advantage of how worried people are about identity theft, and it’s entirely believable that someone may have hacked into your PayPal account, and added their own e-mail address. And what could be the harm of checking it out to be sure?
The harm, of course, is that the link in the e-mail doesn’t go to PayPal at all, but rather the phishing site.
Here is the full text of the e-mail, and below I dissect it and show you the tricks…
[Continue reading Evil New PayPal Phish! New e-mail address added to your PayPal account!]
[tags]paypal,internet patrol,phish,e-mail security,aunty spam[/tags]

2 Comments
George Lufkin
August 16th, 2007
at 7:30am
I may have received an even more updated Paypal PHISH.
I tried to send this to Lime Wire LLC since their name was used in the phony receipt. But an Uknown Error occurred. Here is the message I tried to send to Lime Wire.
Someone is using your company name to PHISH for vital information.
I received a PAYPAL receipt for 114.50usd.
The hook was, if I didn’t authorize the purchase I was supposed to go to an address to report the issue.
At the site they ask for:
Date of Birth, Mother’s Maiden Name, Social Security Number, Bank Account Number. Among other things.
The graphics look convincing.
Here is the address give it a try;
https://www.paypal.com/us/vst/id=6KG2351756P95166Z
This was a link supplied in the email. I am assuming it isn’t real but it sure looks convincing.
The email was sent to IdleGeorg@aol.com on 8/16/2007 2:03:033 AM EDT.
The email was from reports@paypal.com
Subj: Receipt for your payment to Lime Wire LLC
If this is real, please let me know because I havn’t used paypal in more than a year.
Ron Stamm
May 9th, 2008
at 1:53pm
Here is a real weird one I just got today:
We recorded a payment request from “Live Strip Chat Camera Sexy Girls -www.video-chat.co.uk - Girls Show”
to enable the charge of $127.34 on your PayPal account. Because the order was made from an european internet address,
we put an Exception Payment on transaction id #POS 03 4573 motivated by our Geographical Tracking System.
THE PAYMENT IS PENDING FOR THE MOMENT .
If you made this transaction or if you just authorize this payment, please ignore or remove this email message.
The transaction will be shown on your monthly statement as “Live Strip Chat Camera Sexy Girls”.
If you didn’t make this payment and would like to decline the $127.34 billing to your card,
please follow the link below to cancel the payment : Cancel this payment ( transaction id #POS 03 4573)
Thank you for using PayPal!
The PayPal Team
Please do not reply to this email. This mailbox is not monitored and you will not receive a response.
For assistance, log in to your PayPal account and click the Help link located in the top right corner
of any PayPal page
the url goes to http://adsl-75-17-78-198.dsl.peoril.sbcglobal.net/webscr/