Apple’s new iCloud service has launched, and folks are already discovering just how useful the iCloud Photo Stream can be. Without having to set time aside to sync your iPod touch, iPhone, or iPad to your computer, photos are automatically saved on all of your devices and computers. This allows you to keep copies of each photo across multiple devices, making them safer and less prone to loss due to accidental deletion.
But what if you want to delete photos from your iCloud Photo Stream? You can do this, and it won’t delete the files from the individual devices that have already saved them locally.
Here are the steps you’ll need to follow to reset your iCloud Photo Stream:
- Using a desktop browser, visit iCloud.com and sign in using your Apple (iCloud) ID.
- Click on your name located in the upper-right corner of the page. It is located next to the photo you selected as your personal avatar on iCloud. If you do not see your name, click the cloud icon in the top left of the page.
- Click Advanced.
- At this point, you’ll see a single Reset Photo Stream button. Clicking this button will completely remove all photos on the iCloud Photo Stream. This is a one-way action that can’t be removed later on, so make sure you’ve saved the files locally on your desktop computer and/or mobile devices.
You can clear your iCloud Photo Stream cache locally on your iOS devices and desktop computers by following a few simple steps.
Clearing the iCloud Photo Cache on iOS can be done by turning off Photo Stream and turning it back on. You can do this by going to the iCloud menu in Settings and selecting Photo Stream.
For users of Mac OS X, you can achieve this by clearing cached photos from iPhoto orÂ Aperture. The Photo Stream controls can be accessed in both of these applications through the Settings menu by selecting Photo Stream.
For PC users, you can do this by deleting the Photo Stream download folder. It’s located by default here:
C:UsersApplePicturesPhoto StreamMy Photo Stream.