How to Delete Your Skype Account

Skype is a great way to face-to-face chat with friends and family around the world for free over the internet. In addition to video calling, Skype offers the ability for users to call landlines and mobile phones, create conference calls, forward calls, instant message, SMS, and send files. If you already have a Skype account, though, you already know all of these benefits. However, you may no longer want a Skype account and want to delete it.

Unfortuantely, it is not currently possible to permanently delete your Skype name. You can, however, delete your profile information (which includes your real name and other details, plus any pictures of yourself you have uploaded) to ensure that anyone else using Skype will no longer be able to find or identify you. While you still remain on other users’ contact lists, if you never sign in again, you will always appear offline.

you can not delete your skype account but you can remove your profile informationTo delete your profile information, you will First, you will have to log in to Skype by visiting Skype.com and clicking the “Sign In” link at the top right corner of the Skype website. Then, enter your Skype name and password, and click the “Sign Me In” button to sign in. If you have forgotten your Skype name or Skype password, you can recover either by visiting Skype.com and clicking on the Sign In link at the top of the page. Then, click on either “Forgotten your Skype Name?” or “Forgotten your password?” Skype will then help remind you of your Skype name and/or Skype password so that you can log in to Skype.

Once you are logged in, click on Account, and on the next page scroll down to “profile details” under your name. From there, you can edit your name, birthday, Gender, and location. You can also change your registered phone number, email settings, and password there, too.

If you have downloaded the Skype app, you can change these settings right from your desktop, too. Here’s how:

For Windows, go to Skype > Profile > Edit Your Profile…

For Linux, click on your Skype Name above your contact list and select Edit profile.

For Mac, in the mneu bar, go to File > Edit Profile…

Deleting your profile information will not delete your Skype account, but will remove all of your personal information so people can no longer find or identify you.

Article Written by

  • http://www.avijeets.com Avijeet Sachdev

    Great post Matt, learned a bunch.