To Catch A Phisherman
Today I received an email from a Phishing schemer trying to convince me that they were Amazon. Tired of this, I decided to see how deep this scam actually went. After investigating the header information, doing some backtracing, I was able to determine the following.
The source Web site is funhumour.net. It appears to be legit and a victim of hacking based on the location of the problem page loaded with a fictional Amazon page is located in this directory: /humour /galeries /albums /userpics /10052 /update/
Now, after some research, it looks like the breakdown is as follows: The site is of French origin with Gandi.net as the registrar. The email origin actually came from an IP tracing back to Samsung Networks Inc located in Korea. Its origin could be a possible spoof, but it’s difficult to say for sure. The name server the domain is using is based in Germany and is provided by schlund.de.
So what tidbit of info actually holds some truth here? I believe the Korean IP is the best clue. Unlike the French and German relation, which are not all that far from one another, the addition of the Korean IP reporting to be an office at Samsung Networks seems most suspect.
Still, there is no way to be 100% sure that this is not just a zombie box sending out crap messages…
At the end of the day, all I can say is that its enough to make a guy’s head explode. With any luck, one of the listed sources above is embarrassed enough to take some action. The smart money would be emailing the Web site’s owner, I suppose. But as sick of this as I am, I’ll let someone else do it this time. I’m simply too fed up with a non-stop flood of this crap, it’s frustrating.
[tags]Phisherman,phishing,scam,tired,zombie,network[/tags]





