E-Mail:

eBay Phishing Scam?

This morning, I received the following email:

Dear valued eBay member,

It has come to our attention that your eBay billing updates are out of order. If you could please take 5-10 minutes out of your online experience and update your billing records you will not run into any future problems with the online service. Once you have updated your account records your eBay session will not be interrupted and will continue as normal. Failure to update will result in cancellation of service, Terms of Service (TOS) violations or future billing problems. To update your eBay records click here:

https://billing.ebay.com/aw-cgi/eBayISAPI.dll?SignIn&ssPageName=h:h:sin:US

eBay Update team
http://www.eBay.com

Some of the header items are suspicious:

Received: from sta-204-188-96-153.rockynet.com[204.188.96.153] (helo=192.168.50.20) by mx.perfora.net with ESMTP (Nemesis), id 0MKv22-1CFQbS30ym-0003lR; Thu, 07 Oct 2004 01:14:10 -0400
Received: from 189.220.75.82 by ; Thu, 07 Oct 2004 03:52:57 -0200

eBay’s IP address is a 66.135.xxx.xxx address

Message-ID:
X-Mailer: Microsoft Outlook Express 6.00.2600.0000

eBay using Outlook Express and Hotmail to contact members? I doubt it.

X-SpamScore: 2.950 tests= FORGED_MUA_OUTLOOK

This tells the tale!

If you get one like this, DON’T click the link. Forward the email to spoof@ebay.com.

What Do You Think?

 

Want to Start a Blog Here for Free?

Are you an expert in one subject or another? If your goal is to help others and dispense hard-earned information back to the community, stake a claim on your very own Lockergnome blog today! You can write about anything - no matter the topic. Sign-up to start blogging!

66 queries / 0.810 seconds.