How to Delete a Restore Point

When you own a Windows computer, especially one with a small hard drive, you might notice space being taken up and quickly filling the drive. At first signs a user might be afraid that his or her system might be infected, but if you have an anti-virus installed and nothing has detected an intrusion, it might be Windows itself that is taking up all that precious space.

With almost all Windows systems, a feature has been built in to periodically back up certain user data; in the event that something goes wrong, it creates a restore point. Usually when installing an update or a new piece of software, your system will take a snapshot of your computer’s data before, so if anything happens during or after your installation that you don’t like, you can easily restore your computer to the time before the problem occurred.

If you’d like to delete all but the most recent restore point:

1. With Windows Vista/7, open Disk Cleanup by clicking on the Start button.

2. In the search box, type Disk Cleanup and hit enter.

3. If you have multiple drives, use the drop down box to select the drive you want to clean up and click OK.

4. In the Disk Cleanup dialog box, click Clean up system files.
You might be prompted for an administrator password or confirmation.

5. If you have multiple drives, use the drop down box to select the drive you want to clean up and click OK.

6. Under the More Options tab, click Clean Up under System Restore and Shadow Copies section.

7. Under the dialog box that will pop up, click Delete.

8. Depending on how many restore points your system has, it will take some time to delete.

9. Once the process is done, you can click OK and exit the window to complete the process.

Article Written by

  • Ric Shanahan

    A faster method that works just as well is to turn off “System restore” which removes all restore points, turn it back on again and then do a Create Restore point.