BEWARE! Fake Newegg Order Emails

Posted by on Oct 16, 2008 | 4 Comments

For the past three days running, I have been receiving fake Newegg notification messages which look like the one below:

GreetingsGood day,

Thanks for you order.

BFG Tech GeForce GTX 280 BFGEGTX2801024OCE Video Card – Retail – $58

You can check you order status at the folowing link:
http://newegg.com/order.php?li=xxxxxxxxxxxxx

Best regards,
NewEgg Shop Support.

So far the messages have stated that I have bought a video card, a motherboard and a cpu. What is fortunate for me is that I know that I have not ordered these items. On the flip side it is disturbing since I am receiving these messages at my home email address and not my gmail throw away, which is used for ordering, including ordering from Newegg.

I thought I would pass this on just as a precaution.

Comments welcome.

Note: The address above has been changed.

  • George

    ill beware

    lol, gtx 280 retail price $58, if only! it sells for more like $500!

  • http://wp3.lockergnome.com/nexus/blade/ Ron Schenone

    I thought that was one heck of a deal! :-)

  • Denis Paley

    Is this extension available for Firefox 5.0. Sounds like it would be a nice extension for us who
    like to personalize our browsers.

  • http://profiles.google.com/rahul247rocks Rahul Ghosh

    Thanx for sharing this, very effective tool :)